Why I Started Streaming… Any My Goals for My Stream

I lightly covered what my goals were on Twitch in another blog post of mine, but I didn’t go into great detail. I guess I’ll do that in this post.

I want to make a positive impact on the gaming community if I can ever get popular enough. One of my heroes in the gaming community is Boogie2988. I want to be trusted in my opinions and reviews of games like I trust him in his. I want to build a community that isn’t toxic, willing to help people, and welcome new people of all kinds to gaming.

I also want to take three months out of the year (November, December, and January) to do a “charityathon” I guess you could call it. For those three months everything I make in donations will go to Soldiers’ Angels. I’ve been a member since 2008. They do many things for vets, deployed soldiers, and soldier’s families. I send letters, gifts, and care packages to soldiers who would otherwise not get anything. Soldiers’ Angels does much more than that. I find that writing letters is one of the easier things to do. If you are interested follow this link http://soldiersangels.org/Landing-page-letters-for-soldiers.html and it will take you to where you need to go to get started.

I chose November, December, and January because those months can be the busiest months for Soldiers’ Angels and donations are needed a little more around that time. They’re a non-profit organization so they run off of donations. I chose Soldiers’ Angels not just because I’m a part of it, but because Soldiers’ Angels doesn’t really have much publicity outside of platforms that already have a focus on the military. I figured the more people who know about Soldiers’ Angels the more people can help.

Another thing I’ve noticed about Twitch in the past 3 -4 years is very few “big streamers” host/raid smaller streamers. I’ve noticed the same names and faces on the top of stream lists on Twitch for a long time. I want to be that one popular streamer to break that “rule”. I want to host those small streamers who stream for hours and hours and never get a single person in their stream, but never give up. I want to raid those streamers who are on the verge of giving up because they think what’s the point. I want to be that one “big streamer” who reminds the little guys that it is possible. I want to be that “big streamer” who isn’t as worried about my “popular run” on twitch as I am worried about getting good streamers known in the community too, and ultimately growing Twitch’s community in general.

I know… I have big dreams and goals for Twitch… But I like to think it’s possible until proven else wise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

